Our greatest strengths are our greatest weaknesses

“Sometimes our greatest strengths become our greatest weaknesses.”

Before I started to write this post – I sat for a minute or so to figure out what my strengths really are. Well I think I live in a world where other people matter more and that I don’t really take time to think about my strengths and weaknesses.

My strength is that I’m a very organised and neat person. In some cases it really helps to be organised and neat. I don’t like being unorganised and so. My life is always planned and my work is always neat and organised. Just love it. However, in some other cases it can become my greatest weakness too.

Living with someone under the same roof and to find out that the person is a little bit never minded, unorganised and definitely not a neat freak – will strike me so badly and it will become my greatest weakness. I bet that’s no surprise.

Over the years I’ve learned that my strengths are my weaknesses. I’ve learned when sharing a place with someone is challenging and that being a little unorganised sometimes is not going to be the end of the world. I’ve also learned that a few moments of being unorganised is an invitation for my flatmate to start organising the space we live in and then to do it, I watch.  “Your greatest strength is your weakness. You’ll fail if you don’t expand.”

Some tips I want to share with you:

  • If you are a great talker, you talk too much.  Listen more.
  • If you are a great listener, you listen too much.  Talk more.
  • If you are great at execution, you rely too much on getting things done.  Dream more.
  • If you are a dreamer, you launch too quickly.  Execute more.
  • If you are creative, you’re scatterbrained.  Ask more questions.
  • If you are a detail person, you’re rigid.  Try things more.

Greatest strengths can become greatest weaknesses!

Editor: Roelien Zwart

Picture Source: (kerryleecockrell.blogspot.com)

Leave a Reply

