“Rock journalism is people who can’t write interviewing people who can’t talk for people who can’t read.” (Frank Zappa)

Frank Zappa

The most outrageously funny quotation that I know of was spoken by the musician Frank Zappa:

“Rock journalism is people who can’t write interviewing people who can’t talk for people who can’t read.”

Firstly, let’s break down the quote of Frank Zappa:

–          The rock journalists are people who can’t write

–          They are interviewing their type of rock people, who can’t talk

–          For their type of rock target audience who can’t read.

I was really grabbed by this quote of Frank Zappa, and I guess this quote can also have many different meanings. There are so much different types of music such as classic, jazz, country, Afrikaans, rock, metal, opera, etc. Music is an art form whose medium is sound and silence. Music speaks to the soul and what is a soul without music?

All most everyone can listen to music, but music also has its own language and not everyone can understand or read the music language. If you cannot understand the language, then you cannot translate it and therefore cannot write about it, talked about it or read about it.

Music is powerful, and only a few people are born to understand music – especially rock music. Yes, most or some rockers drink, smoke and do drugs. They use foul language, even in their music and they have sex with their groupies in the back of their vans … but they make excellent music and even became legends of the time.

Rock music is different to other music and thus Rock Star interviews should be different to normal or sophisticated interviews. Rock Stars understand Rock Journalist who understands Rock Audiences! But if you want to become a Rock Journalist who want to try and interview people who can’t talk to be able to write to people who can’t read … then read the following written by Mithilaum in 2008 – the’ Ten Commandments of Rock Journalism’. This can be useful tips.

1.       Know your music

2.       Know your metal

3.       Be open to all forms of metal

4.       It is not just the riff

5.       Listen/Watch/Read before you write

6.       Have your say

7.       Be You

8.       Prepared to be hammered and hammer back

9.       Go against the rules

10.     Just be Metal

Rock Music definitely rock in it’s own way!

Editor: Roelien Zwart

Picture Source: (deannbessick.blogspot.com)

Picture Source: (stephvanassche.wordpress.com)

47 thoughts on ““Rock journalism is people who can’t write interviewing people who can’t talk for people who can’t read.” (Frank Zappa)

  1. I simply couldn¡¯t depart your web site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual supply in your guests? Is gonna be again frequently in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  2. Only wanna tell that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

  3. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

  4. Travers Gour says:

    This Blog was most helpful, your ideas are straight to the point, and the colors are cool too.
    http://www.CoolMobilePhone.net

  5. I do not usually answer posts but I am going to in this case, great information I will certainly bookmark your site. Keep up the good operate!

  6. What you said made a lot of sense. But, think about this, what if you added a little content? I mean, I dont want to tell you how to run your blog, but what if you added something to maybe get peoples attention? Just like a video or a picture or two to get people excited about what youve got to say. In my opinion, it would make your blog come to life a little bit.

  7. I just like the helpful info you provide to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more right here frequently. Im fairly certain Ill be informed a lot of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

  8. I simply want to mention I’m newbie to weblog and actually liked your page. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You surely come with amazing writings. Regards for sharing your web site.

  9. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back in the future. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

  10. Very good info can be found on this web site.

  11. Im no professional, but I imagine you just made the best point. You obviously fully understand what youre talking about, and I can really get behind that. Thanks for being so upfront and so honest.

  12. I just could not depart your website prior to suggesting that I actually enjoyed the standard info a person provide for your visitors? Is gonna be back often to check up on new posts

  13. Dead composed subject matter, thanks for selective information .

  14. I enjoy your writing style truly loving this internet site. “A small town is a place where there is no place to go where you shouldn’t.” by Burt Bacharach.

  15. As soon as I found this site I went on reddit to share some of the love with them. “The result justifies the deed.” by Ovid.

  16. Very interesting information!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  17. limo ny says:

    I always was concerned in this topic and still am, regards for posting .

  18. I like this site very much, Its a very nice position to read and get information. “There’s nothing I’m afraid of like scared people.” by Robert Frost.

  19. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for this! Thank goodness I found it on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again! “Every time we remember to say thank you, we experience nothing less than heaven on earth.” by Sarah Ban Breathnach.

  20. You have noted very interesting details ! ps nice internet site . “He that will not sail till all dangers are over must never put to sea.” by Thomas Fuller.

  21. detski pesni says:

    You have brought up a very good details , thankyou for the post. “I am not an adventurer by choice but by fate.” by Vincent Van Gogh.

  22. Simply wanna comment that you have a very nice site, I like the design it really stands out.

  23. Spot on with this write-up, I actually suppose this web site wants way more consideration. I’ll probably be once more to learn far more, thanks for that info. Facebook.com/FitnessGirlbr <– Take a look.

  24. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our area library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such excellent information being shared freely out there.

  25. shrink film says:

    I conceive this website holds some real excellent information for everyone :D. “America is not merely a nation but a nation of nations.” by Lyndon B. Johnson.

  26. Thank you a lot for providing individuals with such a terrific chance to read from here. It’s usually so excellent and stuffed with a great time for me personally and my office fellow workers to search the blog at minimum thrice in a week to read through the newest stuff you have. Not to mention, I am usually fulfilled with your unique opinions you give. Some 1 tips on this page are undeniably the most effective we’ve had.

  27. Kind says:

    I like this weblog it’s a master piece! Glad I detected this on google.

  28. I got what you intend, regards for posting .Woh I am glad to find this website through google. “Remember that what you believe will depend very much on what you are.” by Noah Porter.

  29. Finest says:

    I went over this web site and I conceive you have a lot of excellent info, saved to my bookmarks (:.

  30. Generally I do not read post on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

  31. You can certainly see your expertise within the paintings you write. The sector hopes for more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to mention how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  32. I really enjoy reading through on this website, it has got fantastic posts. “Never fight an inanimate object.” by P. J. O’Rourke.

  33. I like what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and coverage! Keep up the great works guys I’ve you guys to my blogroll.

  34. weblink says:

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an shakiness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

  35. I like what you guys are up also. Such smart work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my web site :).

  36. Wow, awesome weblog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog glance easy. The whole glance of your website is magnificent, well the content material!

  37. MOD to AVI says:

    Well I definitely enjoyed reading it. This subject procured by you is very helpful for correct planning.

  38. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks a lot!

  39. website here says:

    Along with everything that appears to be developing inside this specific area, a significant percentage of perspectives happen to be very stimulating. Nonetheless, I am sorry, because I do not subscribe to your whole idea, all be it radical none the less. It looks to me that your comments are actually not totally validated and in reality you are yourself not really completely convinced of the point. In any event I did appreciate reading through it.

  40. katalog www says:

    You must take part in a contest for top-of-the-line blogs on the web. I’ll recommend this site!

  41. I acquired more interesting things on this weight loss issue. Just one issue is a good nutrition is extremely vital when dieting. A big reduction in fast foods, sugary foods, fried foods, sweet foods, red meat, and white-colored flour products may perhaps be necessary. Possessing wastes bloodsuckers, and wastes may prevent objectives for fat-loss. While certain drugs temporarily solve the problem, the terrible side effects are certainly not worth it, and in addition they never present more than a momentary solution. It is a known indisputable fact that 95% of diet plans fail. Many thanks sharing your ideas on this blog site.

  42. As I website possessor I think the content here is really superb , appreciate it for your efforts.

  43. ps3 ylod says:

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme? Superb work!

  44. I visited a lot of website but I believe this one contains something extra in it. “Truth always originates in a minority of one, and every custom begins as a broken precedent.” by Lady Nancy Astor.

  45. I like this web site so much, saved to my bookmarks. “To hold a pen is to be at war.” by Francois Marie Arouet Voltaire.

  46. Yay google is my king assisted me to find this outstanding web site ! . “They used to photograph Shirley Temple through gauze. They should photograph me through linoleum.” by Tallulah Bankhead.

  47. I do accept as true with all the concepts you’ve offered for your post. They’re very convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are very brief for starters. Could you please extend them a bit from next time? Thank you for the post.

Leave a Reply

