Andy Warhol: “In the future everybody will be world famous for fifteen minutes.” You can’t choose the 15 minutes but why would you be world famous?

World famous for 15 minutes…

Mmm, I can’t choose my 15 minutes of world famous, but why would I like to be world famous?

I think once you got the fame, you don’t really know how to react on it. If I think of some famous people, I think of them as snobby people. People that only care about themselves and their reputation. They are so full of themselves, make a lot of money and certainly think they are the best. I think our current celebrity culture is a travesty. People get media attention for everything from their athletic prowess to their willingness to eat spiders on a reality TV show, and the more outrageous they act the more attention they receive. It is ridiculous!

Of course, imagine all the free designer clothes, handbags, accessories and goodie bags worth thousands; preferential treatment and of course, scads of money all sound wonderful and glamorous! But is that the only reason to be famous? Well, if that is the only reason then I don’t want to be famous!

For me to be famous could be an opportunity to help others. I could help others fulfil their dreams, donate money to an orphanage and the unprivileged, and even give someone else the chance of being 15 minutes famous. If I could be famous for 15 minutes, I want to use it to make a difference in someone else’s life.

If you receive your 15 minutes of fame, do you really want to waste yours making a fool of yourself on some reality TV show or in a lame, filthy magazine gossip story?

Benefiting others in life!

Whenever I receive my 15 minutes of world fame, I hope that it will be 15 minutes of fame where I am benefiting others and not benefiting myself!

Editor: Roelien Zwart

Picture Source: (magforwomen.com)

Picture source: (sfgate.com)

6 thoughts on “Andy Warhol: “In the future everybody will be world famous for fifteen minutes.” You can’t choose the 15 minutes but why would you be world famous?

  1. KoralineB says:

    Isn’t 15 min of fame for those who do these things as eat spiders? Those who are truly “worth” of being famous stay famous.

    But I really like the thought. If you could choose what to be famous for…Hm still a hard one..;D

  2. Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] Read More here: roelienzwart.wordpress.com/2012/07/25/andy-warhol-in-the-future-everybody-will-be-world-famous-for-fifteen-minutes-you-cant-choose-the-15-minutes-but-why-would-you-be-world-famous/ […]…

  3. Buster Dartt says:

    I simply want to say I am just all new to blogs and really savored this web-site. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog . You surely have awesome posts. Regards for revealing your web-site.

  4. URL says:

    Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations? 423438

  5. Woh I like your content material , saved to favorites ! . 802046

  6. thelandy says:

    It is usually ordinary people who achieve great things, no need for fame…what do you think??

Leave a Reply

