A small change but a BIG difference

“I am only one, but I am one. I cannot do everything, but I can do something. And I will not let what I cannot do interfere with what I can do.” ~ Edward Everett Hale

This is such true words being said in the quote by Edward Everett Hale. I cannot do everything and I cannot perhaps change everything in the world that matters to me. However, I can do something, even if it is something small because small changes can make a big difference in the end. You should also do what you can do, because you are just a human. Do the best that you can do to change it… and don’t let those things you can’t do interfere with what you can do… 😉

Two and a half years back, I worked for the Cape of Good Hope SPCA where my vision for animals changed entirely… I was so fortunate to be a part of the SPCA Team. By volunteering, I already made a difference. One extra hand can put one extra dog/cat in a good home. I was always an animal lover, but my love for animals truly grew deeper and deeper into my heart when I saw their sad little faces behind the enclosures…

Make a difference

When you want to change something in life, it can somehow feel overwhelming. Whether it’s donating clothes or food to orphanages, starting to volunteer at animal shelters, or even helping to paint a room for a little girl/boy in an orphanage home, it might be just a change you’re desperately keen to make… but getting started is really tough!

We think that we have busy lives, running around and doing things. We make our own lives busy and in the end we say “Oh I don’t have the time to spend at any of the animal shelters or orphanage homes.” We can make time! Because 10 minutes of your time is already a BIG difference in someone else’s or something else’s life!

You don’t have to take huge, sweeping, radical steps, though. Small and simple changes are often the best way forwards – they’re sustainable and manageable, and you’re not likely to give after one half-hearted attempt. So make a change, even if it is so small – remember that a small change turns into a BIG difference!!!

My difference at the Cape of Good Hope SPCA

Editor: Roelien Zwart

Picture Source: (tanyakovarsky.wordpress.com)

Picture Source: (Sourced by Roelien Zwart)

3 thoughts on “A small change but a BIG difference

  1. thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. i enjoyed well while reading your article lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

Leave a Reply

